A brief overview about me!;

Jules, Rob and MeI was born on Friday (Friday’s child is loving and giving! 😉 ) 19th August 1977 at 6.40am. I was brought up on a farm in the Scottish Borders, with my brother Rob and sister Julia. Being the youngest I was probably the most spoilt and the most difficult! 😉

From Chirnside Primary School I moved to St Mary’s School in Melrose and then onto Fettes College in Edinburgh gaining 3 A levels in Maths, Biology and Chemistry but I was more interested in sport than studying! Hockey, Lacrosse, Athletics, XC Running, Skiing and Horse riding were my passion. I represented Scotland, whilst at school, in both Athletics (long jump and 400m hurdles) and Lacrosse. I went on to compete in the U19 Lacrosse World Champs, captained the Scotland U21 Lacrosse team and played for the Senior Scotland Lacrosse team.

After leaving school I took a year out which I spent in Gloucestershire working with horses in an eventing yard, before beginning my BSc Applied Sports Science degree course in Birmingham and then transferring to Edinburgh University. Having a part time job doing Market Research and the odd bit of modelling and promotional work enabled me to enjoy University life to the full.

Another HamletHorses were becomming more and more important in my life. I was competing most weekends and before I knew it I was working in a Point-2-point/Eventing yard. After a year and a half I set up my own business training and competing horses, which I did for almost 10 years. I was very lucky to have some fantastic owners and talented horses. (Equally I had some very naughty horses!!) I competed from intro (90cm) up to Advanced level. Another Hamlet, my own horse, was my superstar who took me up the grades, notching many wins. He sadly passed away a few years ago after a happy retirement.

Whilst still working with horses I gained an Exec PA diploma and began working part time at Scotlandshop, an online sales company which sells everything and anything tartan.

I moved to South Africa in February 2010 to begin life in Cape Town. I joined New Balance Multisport Club, now Cape Multisport Club, and I am now hooked on road running, trail running, cycling, mountain biking, duathlons and triathlons! You will very rarely find me sitting still 🙂

I am a very proud brand ambassador for Apsu Nutrition, Cycle4Life, Pavé Sports, SweatGear and Zoggs SA 🙂

I completed my first Ironman in 2013 and raced at the Ironman World Champs in Kona, Hawaii 2014 & 2019 (I have now raced 12 IM70.3 and 11 IM). I’ve also done some mtbing – Trans Baviaans x2, 360NE, W2W…

2017 didn’t go quite as planned and I’m delighted to still be alive!! – read about my DVT and PE HERE.

3 years later I’m fit, healthy and loving life 🙂 2019 went very well; I won my age category (40-44) at IM African Champs and won my age cat at Durban 70.3. I raced at 70.3 world champs in Nice in September and then went on to race Ironman World Champs in Kona and finished 12th in my age cat.

2020 has been a strange year for us all. I’ve managed to keep fit, healthy and motivated most of the time. You can read about my crazy virtual Everesting on my blog.

Looking forward to 2021 with a few different races for me; Celtman Xtri in June being my main race.

I’m very grateful for everything I am able to do; a big thanks to Cobus, my coach Dave Sullivan (Wingman Multisport Coaching) and everyone who supports me.